The university is organised around four Colleges consisting of Schools (19 in total), each headed by a Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Head of College, as follows:

College of Agriculture, Engineering and Science

School of Agricultural, Earth & Environmental Science
School of Chemistry & Physics
School of Engineering
School of Life Sciences
School of Mathematics, Statistics & Computer Science

College of Health Sciences

School of Clinical Medicine
School of Laboratory Medicine & Medical Sciences (LMMS)
School of Health Sciences
School of Nursing & Public Health

College of Humanities

School of Religion, Philosophy & Classics (SRPC)
School of Arts (SoA)
School of Social Sciences (SSS)
School of Applied Human Sciences (SAHC)
School of Built Environment & Development Studies (SoBEDS)
School of Education

College of Law and Management Studies

School of Law
Graduate School of Business & Leadership
School of Accounting, Economics & Finance
School of Management, IT & Governance

The organisational structure as a whole is underpinned by the vision, mission and goals of the University, and designed to ensure the efficient and integrated management and administration of a large and complex institution.

View more on the UKZN College Reorganisation here.