View isiZulu version

The Senate is accountable to the Council for all the teaching, learning, research and academic functions of the University and all other functions delegated or assigned to it by the Council.

Composition of senate

(1)              The senate, subject to the provisions of the Act, consists of:

(a)              the vice-chancellor;

(b)              the deputy vice-chancellors;

(c)              the executive dean of students;

(d)              one representative from the council who must not be either an employee or student and who is elected by the council;

(e)              the chair of the support sector board;

(f)               the director of library services;

(g)              the director of quality promotion and assurance;

(h)              the chair of the institutional forum;

(i)               the president of convocation or nominee;

(j)               the university dean of research;

(k)              the college deans of research;

(l)               the college deans of teaching and learning;

(m)             the college managers responsible for student academic administration for the college;

(n)              all heads of schools;

(o)              two permanent academic employees from each school duly elected by each such school;

(p)              a fellow of the University who is a permanent member of the academic staff of the   University, elected by the fellows;

(q)              six student representatives, one from each of the campuses, duly elected by the local SRC for that campus, and one student representative from the central SRC having been duly elected by that council;

(r)        such additional members as are approved by the senate.


General Enquiries

DBN: +27 31 260 1111
PMB: +27 33 260 5111
or Call +27 31 260 8596 and follow the voice prompts

Did you Know?

UKZN’s School of Information Systems and Technology was the first university in South Africa to introduce Podcasting as an educational tool.

The University enjoys a century of academic advancements.

Spud author, John Van De Ruit, graduated from UKZN.

UKZN is the third most productive university in South Africa in terms of research output

South Africa's best-known and most popular television maths and science teacher William Smith obtained a Master’s degree from the former University of Natal

UKZN is one of three African universities rated amongst the top 500 universities of the world according to the Academic Rankings of World Universities(ARWU).

The multimillion-rand KwaZulu-Natal Research Institute for Tuberculosis and HIV/AIDS (K-RITH), an international centre of scientific research, is located on the University's Medical school campus.

The University offers approximately 2 000 academic programmes at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels.

UKZN has been home to many successful sportsman over the years, Tommy Bedford a former Springbok Rugby player, Shaun Pollock & Jonty Rhodes South African Cricketers.

Some high profile businessmen studied at UKZN, Sol Kerzner the developer of Lost city & more, Stephen Saad the CEO & founder of Aspen Pharmacare Holdings, Guy Brazier the regional leader of Deloitte & Alan Olivier the CEO of Grindrod Group.

Electronic Newsletter


Follow us