The Council of the University is the highest decision making body within the University structure and is constituted according to the Higher Education Act, 1997, and the University of KwaZulu-Natal Statute. Subject to the Act and this Statute, the Council governs the University.

The 30 member Council consists of executive officers, employees of the institution, student representatives, alumni and community members appointed following the approved University processes.


Executive Members

Dr Albert van Jaarsveld
Professor Renuka Vithal
Mr Bulelani Mahlangu

Ministerial Appointees

Mrs Phumla Mnganga (Chair)
Mr Gaff Osman
Mr Thabani Zulu
Mr Samuel Zungu
Ms Yvonne Zwane

Senate Representatives

Professor Nobuhle Hlongwa
Professor Busi Ncama

Academic Staff Representatives

Dr Nirmala Gopal
Professor Relebohile Moletsane

SRC Representatives

Mr Sithabiso Mthethwa
Mr Vuyolwethu Zondo

Support Staff Representatives

Dr Kathy Cleland
Mr Tony Singarum

Convocation Representatives

Ms Thembeka Dlungwane
Mr Sammy Mashita
Mr Fanle Sibisi

Appointed by the Council

Mr Karl Schmidt (Vice-Chair)
Mrs Thembisa Dingaan
Judge Achmat Jappie
Mrs Basadifeela Letsoalo
Mr Elijah Litheko
Dr Leticia Moja
Mr Themba Ngcobo
Ms Nontobeko Ntsinde
Mr Leo Quayle
Professor Mala Singh
Mrs Zinhle Sokhela

In Attendance

Mr Convy Baloyi (Secretary to Council)
Mr Lesiba Seshoka
Ms Julia Mabuya

General Enquiries

DBN: +27 31 260 1111
PMB: +27 33 260 5111
or Call +27 31 260 8596 and follow the voice prompts

Did you Know?

UKZN’s School of Information Systems and Technology was the first university in South Africa to introduce Podcasting as an educational tool.

The University enjoys a century of academic advancements.

Spud author, John Van De Ruit, graduated from UKZN.

UKZN is the third most productive university in South Africa in terms of research output

South Africa's best-known and most popular television maths and science teacher William Smith obtained a Master’s degree from the former University of Natal

UKZN is one of three African universities rated amongst the top 500 universities of the world according to the Academic Rankings of World Universities(ARWU).

The multimillion-rand KwaZulu-Natal Research Institute for Tuberculosis and HIV/AIDS (K-RITH), an international centre of scientific research, is located on the University's Medical school campus.

The University offers approximately 2 000 academic programmes at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels.

UKZN has been home to many successful sportsman over the years, Tommy Bedford a former Springbok Rugby player, Shaun Pollock & Jonty Rhodes South African Cricketers.

Some high profile businessmen studied at UKZN, Sol Kerzner the developer of Lost city & more, Stephen Saad the CEO & founder of Aspen Pharmacare Holdings, Guy Brazier the regional leader of Deloitte & Alan Olivier the CEO of Grindrod Group.

Electronic Newsletter


Follow us